More Mma

Switch to desktop Register Login

Pat Curran Overwhelms Joe Warren


An outstanding fight card by Bellator, sold out the Horseshoe Casino Friday night, and what a great night of MMA action it was. Pat Curran is the new Bellator Featherweight Champion, after overwhelming Joe Warren in the third round. Curran stunned Warren with a devastating knee, that landed squarely on the face of Warren. Warren stumbled backwards and Curran moved in for the kill, he landed a barrage of punches, a flying knee and devastating uppercuts which sent Warren to the canvas. The referee finally put a stop to the punishment as I feel Warren took some excessive punishment, while he was visibly out on his feet. The size of Curran just seemed too much to overcome for Warren. While Warren was able to take Curran down several times, but just couldn't keep the larger fighter on the mat. A unbelievable run by Curran, who wins his fourth straight fight to capture the title. Curran defeated Luis Palomino, Ronnie Mann, and Marlon Sandro to earn his chance to face Warren. Curran now looks to face Pitbull Freire in his first title defense. Curran told the crowd "I just got this belt and I don't plan on getting rid of it anytime soon" Warren has now dropped his last two and now looks to make an Olympic run in Greco Roman Wrestling.

Mike Corey, Daniel Straus, Alexandre "Popo" Bezerra, and Marlon Sandro were all victorious and all advanced to the second round of the Bellator Featherweight Tournament.

Jake Nauracy wins is Bellator debut defeating Cory Galloway in the second round, with a rear naked choke. Nauracy dropped Galloway in the first round and used some ground in pound, but was unable to finish Galloway in the first round. An outstanding fight by two young fighters capped of an action packed evening.

#1: Genair da Silva def. Bobby Reardanz via ref stoppage (strikes) at 0:51 Round 3

 Featherweight Tournament Quarterfinal

#2: Alexandre Bezerra def. Kenny Foster via submission (rear naked choke) at 4:57 Round 2

#3: Josh Shockley def. Shamar Bailey via Unanimous Decision (30-27, 29-28,30-27)

Featherweight Tournament Quarterfinals

#4: Marlon Sandro def. Roberto Vargas via Submission (rear naked choke) at 3:35 Round 1

#5: Mike Corey def. Ronnie Mann via Unanimous Decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

#6 Daniel Straus def Jeremy Spoon via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)

Bellator Featherweight Championship

#7 Pat Curran def Joe Warren via TKO (strikes) 1:25 Round 3


#8 Sean McCorkle def Richard White via submission (neck crank) 1:02 Round 1

#9 Travis Wiuff def Anthony Gomez via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

#10 Jake Nauracy def Cory Galloway via submission (rear naked choke) 4:22 Round 2




© 2013 More MMA. All Rights Reserved.

Top Desktop version